Students receive PET bursaries for 2016.

STUDENTS RECEIVE BURSARIES: The group of lucky students from the Kathehong and Vosloorus areas, with Peermont Corporate Affairs and CSI …

A TOTAL of 13 students were recipients of Peermont Education Trust (PET) bursaries in 2016.

The bursaries were awarded to them on Monday, January 25, at Emperors Palace, after which they had to enrol at their various universities for 2016.

Peermont have been funding students for full bursaries for tertiary education for the past 14 years and this year was no exception. Of the 13 recipients, seven came from the Kathehong and Vosloorus areas

The lucky recipients have been registered to study a wide variety of courses, including Actuarial Science, Mechanical Engineering, Business Management and Law. The final recipients were selected from hundreds of applications and had to make it through a stringent selection process, as well as a nerve-wracking interview with a panel of judges.

Winning candidate Nomzaza Mpumelelo, from Vosloorus, said: “I have a burning desire to study physics and I want to increase the contribution of African physicists and improve South Africa’s economy”.

In addition to having their tuition and accommodation costs paid, these fortunate students will receive workshops and psychological support to sustain them through the academic year.

“Over the years we have found that we are able to increase our graduation rate by offering learners additional support throughout the year; we do not just leave them to their own devices and, to date, the PET has an 86 per cent graduation rate,” says Jenny Findlay, Peermont Education Trust manager.

”This is exceptional considering that the learners are from township schools and that the national graduation rate is 22 per cent.”

“Despite the circumstances that I have overcome, namely not having a stable family structure, moving from one foster home to another due to unconducive living and learning conditions, abuse and dire financial and nutritional needs, I still maintained a good track record,” said winning candidate Katlego Dipholo, from Katlehong.